Coronavirus

Ontario Northland Update on Coronavirus

COVID-19 Update June 11, 2020

 

Polar Bear Express

Ontario Northland will be reinstating the Polar Bear Express passenger train service between Cochrane and Moosonee effective June 25th.

The train will operate twice weekly on Mondays and Thursdays with the same departure times.

There will be limited seating on the Polar Bear Express to ensure physical distancing, passengers are encouraged to reserve their tickets in advance by calling 1-800-461-8558.

 

COVID-19 Update April 21st, 2020

 

Modification to Bus Service

As more Ontarians are staying home and limiting travel due to COVID-19, Ontario Northland is balancing its service with current passenger demand.

As of April 26, the frequency of motor coach service on select routes will change, impacting trips to Toronto, Ottawa, North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie and Timmins.

Passengers who have reservations on a cancelled route will be contacted and offered an alternative travel time or be fully reimbursed. To change or confirm your reservation please contact 1-800-461-8558 or email passengercare@ontarionorthland.ca

Non Medical Masks

We encourage passengers to travel with a non-medical mask or face covering that covers both mouth and nose. Masks can be helpful at times during the journey when it’s difficult to maintain physical distance from others.

 

COVID-19 Update April 20th, 2020

 

PBX Service Remains Temporarily Suspended

The health and safety of our passengers, employees and communities we serve is our top priority.

To help contain the spread of COVID-19 the Polar Bear Express passenger train service between Cochrane and Moosonee remains temporarily suspended.

At this time a date for reinstatement has not been determined. Weekly discussions with the Government of Ontario, Ontario Northland, Mushkegowuk Council, Moose Cree First Nation, the Town of Moosonee and the local health authority continue.

Freight service between Cochrane and Moosonee continues as scheduled, ensuring the transportation of essential supplies including food, medical supplies, building materials, fuel and equipment.

Important information regarding the delivery of claims for lien

On April 9, 2020 the Province of Ontario enacted an amendment to emergency regulation O. Reg 73/20 issued under the Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter E. 9, lifting the suspension of the time period to deliver claims for lien during the COVID-19 emergency.

Due to COVID-19 Ontario Northland has closed its facilities, including its Head Office. As a result, in order to facilitate the receipt of claims for lien during the emergency, a Claim for Lien may be served upon Ontario Northland by sending a copy to the following email address: lienclaims@ontarionorthland.ca

Ontario Northland will receive Claims for Lien electronically via the above email, commencing on April 20, 2020, and will continue to do so until the termination of the declaration of emergency made by the Province of Ontario.

 

COVID-19 Update April 16th, 2020

 

Thunder Bay Motor Coach Service Temporarily Postponed

The safety of our passengers, employees and the communities we serve is our top priority. To help contain the spread of COVID-19, we are postponing the expansion of Motor Coach service to Thunder Bay at this time.

Ontario Northland is monitoring the evolving situation and will work with affected communities and our agency partners to establish a new start date.

When service begins, the new route will make transportation easier for communities and passengers in Northwestern Ontario by providing seamless connections from Thunder Bay to Eastern Ontario, including stops in Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury and North Bay with connections to Toronto and Ottawa.

 

COVID-19 Update April 7th, 2020

 

PBX passenger train service temporarily suspended

The safety and health of our passengers, employees, customers and communities we serve is our top priority.

In response to the COVID-19 outbreak, the Polar Bear Express passenger train service between Cochrane and Moosonee will be suspended, beginning April 7, 2020.

This is a temporary measure due to heightened concern for remote communities that are especially vulnerable to the spread of COVID-19.

The decision to suspend service was made in consultation with the Government of Ontario, Ontario Northland, Mushkegowuk Council, Moose Cree First Nation, Town of Moosonee and the local health authority and will be re-evaluated every two weeks.

Freight service between Cochrane and Moosonee will continue as scheduled, ensuring the transportation of essential supplies including food, medical supplies, building materials, fuel and equipment.

 

COVID-19 Update March 28th, 2020

 

In order to manage the spread of COVID-19, the Government of Canada has new restrictions in place for federally-regulated intercity passenger rail travel in Canada. This includes Ontario Northland’s Polar Bear Express passenger train.

As of March 30, 2020:

  • NO traveller, who is symptomatic of COVID-19 will be allowed to board the Polar Bear Express passenger train.
  • A health check of all passengers will be conducted before they board the train, based on guidance from the Public Health Agency of Canada.
  • The health check requires railway company representatives asking simple health questions, looking for visible signs of illness prior to boarding, and recommending the passenger follow guidance from local health authorities.
  • A company is required to deny boarding if the person has been denied boarding by a company or any other carrier in the past 14 days due to a medical reason related to the COVID-19, or if the person is the subject of a provincial or local public health order.
  • A company is also required to deny boarding if the person has been denied boarding by a company or any other carrier in the past 14 days due to a medical reason related to the COVID-19, or if the person is the subject of a provincial or local public health order.
  • Important: No person should provide answers to the health check or questions in a way that they know to be false or misleading.

For more information on these restrictions view the Government of Canada’s document (pdf)

 

COVID-19 Update March 25th, 2020

 

Starting Thursday (March 26), we’re making changes to how we provide some of our services during the COVID-19 outbreak.

For the health and safety of our staff, we are encouraging all customers to purchase bus and train tickets online at www.ontarionorthland.ca.

If you must purchase a ticket in person, we request that you use debit or credit card only and avoid using cash.

Our bus drivers will not accept cash payment at the bus. Customers must purchase their ticket prior to boarding our service. Please note many third party ticket agencies are closed due to COVID-19; please check with Ontario Northland by visiting our website (www.ontarionorthland.ca/station-locator) or calling us at 1-800-461-8558.

You will also notice that we’ve put measures in place at our stations to reinforce social distancing practices to keep everyone safe.

The safety and health of our passengers, employees and communities we serve is our top priority.

As the COVID-19 situation evolves, Ontario Northland will respond accordingly to enhance safety and lower the risk of the infection spreading.

 

COVID-19 Update March 24th, 2020

 

Cochrane Station Inn

We have made the difficult decision to temporarily close the Cochrane Station Inn as of Wednesday, March 25, 2020. Our top priority is the safety of our guests, passengers and employees. We will be taking reservations again as soon as we can and will be in touch with updates through our website and social media.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and look forward to being of service to you in the future. Please note that the Customer Service counter at the Cochrane Station remains open for Bus Parcel Express and Ticketing services.

 

COVID-19 Update March 20th, 2020

 

Polar Bear Express

Ontario Northland is temporarily reducing its service for the Polar Bear Express passenger train following a discussion with community leaders. The train will operate two days per week on Mondays and Thursdays, effective March 26, until further notice. There will be no changes to departure and arrival times.

Freight service between Cochrane and Moosonee will continue as scheduled Tuesday and Friday, ensuring the transportation of essential supplies including food, medical supplies, building materials, fuel and equipment.

Motor Coach Service

Effective Wednesday, March 25, Ontario Northland will temporarily reduce the frequency of its motor coach service on routes that are serviced more than once daily.

We understand that the communities we serve depend on us to travel and ship parcels. Our team is committed to providing a reliable and sustainable level of service, and we will continue to monitor ridership levels to help ensure the safety of our passengers.

Up-to-date information on routes and schedules is available on our website: www.ontarionorthland.ca

 

COVID-19 Update March 18th, 2020

 

The health and safety of our passengers is Ontario Northland’s first priority. To help lower the risk of spreading COVID-19, the Polar Bear Express dining car service will not be in service as of March 19, 2020.

Complimentary water will be provided to passengers at the ticket counters in Cochrane and Moosonee before boarding.

All passengers travelling on the Polar Bear Express passenger train are asked to bring their own non-alcoholic beverages and snacks as no food service will be available enroute.
We recommend you plan accordingly.

This is an unprecedented situation for everyone and we would like to thank our passengers and parcel customers for your patience and understanding.

 

COVID-19 Update March 16th, 2020

 

As Ontario Northland passengers, customers and employees, your safety has always been and remains our number one priority. We want to provide you with information regarding the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak and what Ontario Northland is doing in response.

A Pandemic Response Committee has been formed at Ontario Northland, ensuring that our COVID-19 preparedness and protocols are aligned with current public health authorities and Transport Canada’s recommendations. From the beginning of the coronavirus, we have been in contact with other transportation agencies in the Province to ensure we are aware of and aligned with guidance regarding public transportation. We have increased our disinfecting practices for all passenger touch areas, including heavy-duty cleaning of motor coaches and passenger rail coaches in addition to existing infection control practices such as hand sanitizer availability.

It is all of our responsibility to work together to reduce the spread of infection. We encourage those who can, to practice social distancing measures (including avoiding crowds), wash hands with soap and water, cough into elbows and to stay home and contact your doctor or local health unit if you exhibit symptoms associated with COVID-19.

To help you continue to travel with ease, we will be allowing passengers who made a reservation between March 3rd, 2020 and March 31st, 2020 the ability to change their reservation without any fees, up to two hours prior to ticket expiry (date and time of original scheduled travel). The expiry of 10 trip purchases will be extended to ensure full use of tickets. If you are feeling unwell, please reschedule your ticket and travel at a later date by contacting Customer Service at passengercare@ontarionorthland.ca or calling 1-800-461-8558.

The Public Health Agency of Canada has assessed the public health risk associated with coronavirus as low for Canada. We recognize that this is an evolving issue and we are committed to providing you with up-to-date information as it becomes available.

It’s important to consume information from trusted, credible sources. The best place to get the most accurate and up-to-date information for Ontarians is by visiting the Ontario Ministry of Health's website www.health.gov.on.ca or Public Health Agency of Canada regarding the outbreak and information on symptoms, treatment, prevention and risk www.canada.ca

On behalf of all of us at Ontario Northland, we value your business and remain fully committed to your safety.

The best way to protect yourself is through prevention.

  • Wash your hands frequently with soap and water or alcohol-based hand sanitizer
  • Sneeze and cough into your sleeve
  • Avoid touching your face
  • Avoid contact with people who are sick
  • Self-Isolate if you feel unwell

RESOURCES

Health:

Travel:


FAQs

Coronavirus

Le point sur le coronavirus - Ontario Northland

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 11 Juin 2020

 

Polar Bear Express

Ontario Northland rétablira le service de train de passagers Polar Bear Express entre Cochrane et Moosonee à compter du 25 juin.

Le train effectuera deux liaisons par semaine les lundis et jeudis avec les mêmes heures de départ.

Le nombre de places à bord du Polar Bear Express sera limité pour respecter la norme d’éloignement social. Les passagers sont invités à réserver leurs billets à l’avance appeler 1-800-461-8558.

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 21 Avril 2020

 

Modification du service d’autocar

Étant donné que de plus en plus d’Ontariens restent chez eux et limitent les déplacements en raison de la COVID-19, Ontario Northland adapte ses services à la demande actuelle des passagers.

À compter du 26 avril, nous modifierons la fréquence du service d’autocar pour certains itinéraires, ce qui aura une incidence sur les déplacements vers Toronto, Ottawa, North Bay, Sudbury, Sault Ste. Marie et Timmins.

Nous communiquerons avec les passagers qui ont des réservations pour un itinéraire annulé afin de leur offrir une autre date de déplacement ou de les rembourser entièrement. Pour modifier ou confirmer votre réservation, veuillez composer le 1-800-461-8558 ou envoyer un courriel à passengercare@ontarionorthland.ca.

Masque Non Médical

Nous encourageons les passagers à porter, pendant qu’ils voyagent, un masque non médical qui couvre la bouche et le nez. Les masques peuvent parfois être utiles pendant le voyage lorsqu’il est difficile de maintenir une distance physique avec les autres.

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 20 Avril 2020

 

Le service Polar Bear Express demeure temporairement suspendu

Votre santé et votre sécurité ainsi que celles de nos employés et des communautés que nous desservons sont notre priorité absolue.

Afin de limiter la propagation de la COVID-19, le service de train de passagers Polar Bear Express entre Cochrane et Moosonee demeure temporairement suspendu. .

Pour le moment, aucune date de rétablissement n’a été fixée. Des discussions hebdomadaires entre le gouvernement de l’Ontario, Ontario Northland, le Conseil Mushkegowuk, la Première Nation Moose Cree, la ville de Moosonee et l’autorité sanitaire locale se poursuivent.

Il est important de noter que le service de fret entre Cochrane et Moosonee se poursuivra comme prévu pour assurer le transport des marchandises essentielles, y compris de la nourriture, des fournitures médicales, des matériaux de construction, du carburant et de l’équipement.

Renseignements importants concernant la signification des avis de privilège

Le 9 avril 2020, la province de l’Ontario a promulgué une modification du Règlement de l’Ontario 73/20 sur les situations d’urgence émis en vertu de la Loi sur la protection civile et la gestion des situations d’urgence, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre E. 9, afin de suspendre le délai de signification des avis de privilège pendant l’état d’urgence lié à la COVID-19.

En raison de la COVID-19, Ontario Northland a fermé ses installations, y compris son siège social. Par conséquent, afin de faciliter la réception des avis de privilège pendant l’état d’urgence, un avis de privilège peut être signifié à Ontario Northland en envoyant une copie de l’avis à l’adresse courriel suivante : lienclaims@ontarionorthland.ca

Ontario Northland recevra les avis de privilège par voie électronique au moyen de l’adresse courriel ci-dessus à compter du 20 avril 2020 jusqu’à ce que la province de l’Ontario annonce la levée de l’état d’urgence.

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 16 Avril 2020

 

Suspension temporaire du service d’autocar vers Thunder Bay

Notre priorité absolue est la santé et la sécurité de nos passagers, de nos employés et des collectivités que nous desservons.

Pour aider à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19, nous reportons l’expansion du service d’autocars vers Thunder Bay pour le moment.

Ontario Northland surveille l’évolution de la situation et collaborera avec les collectivités touchées et nos agences partenaires pour fixer une nouvelle date de début du service.

Lorsque le service débutera, le nouveau tracé facilitera les déplacements pour les collectivités et des passagers du Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario grâce à des correspondances homogènes entre Thunder Bay et les destinations de l’Est ontarien, y compris des arrêts à Sault Ste. Marie, à Sudbury et à North Bay avec correspondances vers Toronto et Ottawa.

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 1 Avril 2020

 

Le service du train de passagers Polar Bear Express suspendu temporairement

PBX passenger train service temporarily suspended The safety and health of our passengers, employees, customers and communities we serve is our top priority.

Notre priorité absolue est la santé et la sécurité de nos passagers, de nos employés et des collectivités que nous desservons.

Ontario Northland suspend temporairement le service du train de passagers Polar Bear Express pour se conformer à une décision du gouvernement provincial, des autorités sanitaires et des dirigeants de Mushkegowuk et la ville de Moosonee. Aucun service de train n’est prévu à compter du mardi 7 avril 2020.

La décision de suspendre temporairement le service est une mesure préventive en réponse à la COVID-19. Les différentes parties à l’origine de cette décision sont extrêmement préoccupées par cette situation, car les collectivités éloignées sont particulièrement vulnérables aux risques que présente ce virus.

Il est important de noter que le service de fret entre Cochrane et Moosonee se poursuivra comme prévu pour assurer le transport des marchandises essentielles, y compris de la nourriture, des fournitures médicales, des matériaux de construction, du carburant, des équipements et d’autres marchandises.

 

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 28 mars 2020

Afin de gérer la propagation de la COVID-19, le gouvernement du Canada a mis en place de nouvelles restrictions pour le transport ferroviaire interurbain de passagers sous réglementation fédérale au Canada.

A partir du 30 mars, 2020:

  • AUCUN voyageur symptomatique de la COVID-19 ne sera autorisé à monter à bord d’un train.
  • Les transporteurs ferroviaires interurbains de passagers désignés par arrêté du ministre des Transports sont tenus de faire une vérification de santé de tous les passagers avant de les laisser monter à bord d’un train, conformément aux directives de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada.
  • La vérification de santé exige que des représentants de la compagnie posent des questions simples sur l’état de santé et cherchent des signes visibles de maladie avant l’embarquement, et qu’ils recommandent au passager de suivre les conseils des autorités sanitaires local.
  • Une compagnie est tenue de refuser l’embarquement si le passager présente des symptômes de la COVID-19, à moins que la personne ne fournisse un certificat médical attestant que les symptômes ne sont pas liés à la COVID-19.
  • Une compagnie est également tenue de refuser l’embarquement si la personne s’est vu refuser l’embarquement par une entreprise ou tout autre transporteur au cours des 14 derniers jours pour une raison médicale liée à la COVID-19, ou si la personne fait l’objet d’une ordonnance provinciale ou locale.
  • Important : Toute personne est avisée de ne pas fournir de réponses à la vérification de santé ou aux questions d’une manière qu’elle sait être fausse ou trompeuse.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les restrictions, consultez le document du gouvernement du Canada lien pdf

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 25 mars 2020

 

Nous apportons des changements à la façon dont nous fournissons certains de nos services pendant l’épidémie de COVID‑19. Ces changements entreront en vigueur le jeudi 26 mars.

Pour la santé et la sécurité de notre personnel, nous encourageons tous les clients à acheter leurs billets d’autobus et de train en ligne à www.ontarionorthland.ca/fr.

Si vous devez acheter un billet en personne, nous vous demandons d’utiliser une carte de débit ou de crédit et d’éviter l’argent comptant.

Nos chauffeurs d’autobus et conducteur de train n’accepteront pas de paiements en argent. Les clients doivent acheter leur billet avant de monter à bord. Veuillez noter que de nombreuses billetteries tierces sont fermées en raison de la COVID‑19. Veuillez vérifier auprès d’Ontario Northland en visitant notre site web (www.ontarionorthland.ca/fr) où appelez 1-800-461-8558.

YVous remarquerez également que nous avons mis en place des mesures dans nos gares pour renforcer les pratiques d’éloignement social afin d’assurer la sécurité de tous.

Notre priorité absolue est la santé et la sécurité de nos passagers, de nos employés et des collectivités que nous desservons.

Ontario Northland suivra l’évolution de la situation liée à la COVID‑19 et prendra les mesures qui s’imposent pour améliorer la sécurité et réduire le risque de propagation de l’infection.

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 24 mars 2020

 

Cochrane Station Inn :

Nous avons pris la difficile décision de fermer temporairement le Cochrane Station Inn à compter du mercredi 25 mars 2020. Notre priorité absolue est la sécurité de nos clients, de nos passagers et de nos employés. Nous recommencerons à prendre des réservations dès que possible et nous communiquerons avec vous pour vous tenir au courant par l’entremise de notre site Web et des médias sociaux.

Nous nous excusons de tout inconvénient que cela pourrait causer et nous espérons vous servir à l’avenir. Veuillez noter que le comptoir du service à la clientèle du Cochrane Station Inn demeure ouvert pour les services de colis express par autobus et de billetterie.

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 20 mars 2020

 

Polar Bear Express

Après en avoir discuté avec des dirigeants communautaires, Ontario Northland a décidé de réduire temporairement la fréquence de service du train de passagers Polar Bear Express. Le train fonctionnera deux jours par semaine les lundis et jeudis à compter du 26 mars jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Aucun changement ne sera apporté aux heures de départ et d’arrivée.

Il est important de noter que le service de fret entre Cochrane et Moosonee se poursuivra comme prévu pour assurer le transport des fournitures essentielles, y compris de la nourriture, des fournitures médicales, des matériaux de construction, du carburant, des équipements et d’autres marchandises.

Service d'autocar

À compter de mercredi 25 mars, Ontario Northland réduira temporairement la fréquence de ses services d’autocars sur les itinéraires desservis plus d’une fois par jour.

Nous comprenons que les communautés que nous desservons dépendent de nos services pour voyager et expédier des colis. Notre équipe s’est engagée à offrir un niveau de service fiable et durable, et elle continuera de surveiller le nombre d’usagers afin d’éviter les trop fortes densités de passagers.

Le meilleur endroit où les passagers peuvent obtenir les renseignements les plus à jour sur les itinéraires et les horaires est le site www.ontarionorthland.ca

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 18 mars 2020

 

À compter du jeudi 19 mars 2020, le service de voiture restaurant du Polar Bear Express ne sera plus offert. Ontario Northland prend ces mesures par suite de l’état d’urgence déclaré le mardi 17 mars 2020 en Ontario, où tous les restaurants et bars doivent être fermés immédiatement.

Nous offrirons de l’eau sans frais aux passagers aux billetteries de Cochrane et de Moosonee avant l’embarquement.

Tous les passagers du Polar Bear Express doivent apporter leurs propres boissons non alcoolisées et collations, car aucun service de restauration ne sera offert en route. Nous vous recommandons de planifier en conséquence.

Nous vous remercions de votre patience et de votre compréhension pendant cette période.

 

Le point sur la COVID-19 - le 16 mars 2020

 

Pour Ontario Northland, la sécurité de ses passagers, clients et employés a toujours été la priorité et elle le demeure. Nous tenons tiens à vous fournir des renseignements sur l’éclosion du coronavirus (COVID-19) et sur les mesures prises par Ontario Northland à cet égard.

Nous avons mis sur pied un comité d’intervention en cas de pandémie pour veiller à ce que notre préparation à la COVID-19 et nos protocoles à cet égard soient conformes aux plus récentes recommandations des autorités de santé publique et de Transports Canada. Depuis le début de l’éclosion, nous avons communiqué avec d’autres organismes de transport de la province pour nous assurer d’être au courant des lignes directrices sur les transports en commun et de nous y conformer. Nous avons étendu nos pratiques de désinfection des endroits où les avec lesquels le public entre en contact, ce qui comprend le nettoyage intensif des autocars et des voitures de train de passagers, qui viennent s’ajouter aux mesures que nous prenons déjà pour prévenir les infections, comme la disponibilité de désinfectants pour les mains.

Il nous incombe à tous de travailler ensemble pour réduire le risque de propagation de l’infection. Nous encourageons les personnes qui peuvent le faire à prendre des mesures d’éloignement social, à se laver les mains avec du savon et de l’eau, à tousser dans le coude, à rester à la maison et à s’isoler si elles manifestent des symptômes associés à la COVID-19.

Pour continuer à faciliter vos déplacements, nous permettrons aux passagers qui ont fait une réservation entre le 3 mars 2020 et le 31 mars 2020 de modifier leur réservation sans frais, jusqu’à deux heures avant l’échéance du billet (soit la date et l’heure du voyage initial prévu). Nous prolongerons le délai d’expiration pour les achats de 10 billets de voyage pour nous assurer que les billets peuvent être utilisés. Si vous ne vous sentez pas bien, veuillez fixer une date ultérieure pour votre voyage en communiquant avec le service à la clientèle à passengercare@ontarionorthland.ca ou en composant le 1-800-461-8558.

Selon l’évaluation de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, le risque que présente le coronavirus pour la santé publique est faible au Canada. Nous reconnaissons qu’il s’agit d’un problème en évolution et nous nous engageons à vous fournir des renseignements à jour dès qu’ils seront disponibles. Il est important de consulter les renseignements provenant de sources fiables et crédibles. Le site Web du ministère de la Santé de l’Ontario est le meilleur endroit où obtenir des renseignements à jour et exacts pour les Ontariens. www.health.gov.on.ca ou l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada concernant l’éclosion et l’information sur les symptômes, le traitement, la prévention et le risque www.canada.ca

Nous tous à Ontario Northland sommes heureux de vous compter parmi nos partenaires et demeurons pleinement engagés à assurer votre sécurité.

 

La prévention est la meilleure façon de se protéger.

  • Lavez-vous fréquemment les mains avec du savon et de l’eau ou un désinfectant pour les mains à base d’alcool
  • Éternuez et toussez dans votre coude
  • Évitez de toucher votre visage
  • Éviter les contacts avec les personnes malades
  • Restez à la maison et isolez-vous si vous ne vous sentez pas bien

RESOURCES

Santé:

Tourisme:


FAQs